elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch
Fontsize: [-] Text [+]

MAPHEUS-1: Vehicle, Subsystem Design, Flight Performance And Experiments

Stamminger, Andreas and Ettl, Josef and Blochberger, Guido and Drescher, Jörg and Griesche, Axel and Hassenpflug, Frank and Hoepfner, Sandra and Hörschgen, Marcus and Meyer, Andreas and Neumann, Christian and Ratke, Lorenz and Plescher, Engelbert and Willnecker, Rainer (2009) MAPHEUS-1: Vehicle, Subsystem Design, Flight Performance And Experiments. In: Proceedings of the 19th ESA Symposium on European Rocket and Balloon Programmes and Related Research, pp. 411-416. ESA Communication Production Office. 19th ESA Symposium on European Rocket and Balloon Programmes and Realted Research, 7.-11. Juni 2009, Bad Reichenhall, Deutschland. ISBN 978-92-9221-235-3. ISSN 1609-042X

[img]
Preview
PDF - Requires a PDF viewer such as GSview, Xpdf or Adobe Acrobat Reader
403kB

Abstract

There are numerous materials science experiments in microgravity, which can be realized on sounding rockets, e.g. the gelation of aerogels, directional solidification of alloys and diffusion measurements in metallic melts. Such a rocket must offer a period of good microgravity-conditions for more than 120 s. The MAPHEUS (Materialphysikalische Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit) rocket of the German Aerospace Center DLR meets these requirements. This paper gives an overview on the MAPHEUS-1 vehicle, the experiments, the successful maiden flight of the rate-control-system and the campaign. The paper includes first flight results and it gives an outlook on the MAPHEUS programme.

Document Type:Conference or Workshop Item (Speech, Paper)
Title:MAPHEUS-1: Vehicle, Subsystem Design, Flight Performance And Experiments
Authors:
AuthorsInstitution or Email of Authors
Stamminger, Andreasandreas.stamminger@dlr.de
Ettl, Josefjosef.ettl@dlr.de
Blochberger, Guidoguido.blochberger@dlr.de
Drescher, Jörgjoerg.drescher@dlr.de
Griesche, Axelaxel.griesche@dlr.de
Hassenpflug, Frankfrank.hassenpflug@dlr.de
Hoepfner, Sandrasandra.hoepfner@dlr.de
Hörschgen, Marcusmarcus.hoerschgen@dlr.de
Meyer, Andreasandreas.meyer@dlr.de
Neumann, Christianchristian.neumann@dlr.de
Ratke, Lorenzlorenz.ratke@dlr.de
Plescher, Engelbertplescher@fh-aachen.de
Willnecker, Rainerrainer.willnecker@dlr.de
Date:September 2009
Journal or Publication Title:Proceedings of the 19th ESA Symposium on European Rocket and Balloon Programmes and Related Research
Refereed publication:No
In ISI Web of Science:No
Page Range:pp. 411-416
Publisher:ESA Communication Production Office
ISSN:1609-042X
ISBN:978-92-9221-235-3
Status:Published
Keywords:MAPHEUS, Material Science, Micro-Gravity, Sounding Rocket
Event Title:19th ESA Symposium on European Rocket and Balloon Programmes and Realted Research
Event Location:Bad Reichenhall, Deutschland
Event Type:international Conference
Event Dates:7.-11. Juni 2009
Organizer:ESA
HGF - Research field:Aeronautics, Space and Transport (old)
HGF - Program:Space (old)
HGF - Program Themes:W SY - Technik für Raumfahrtsysteme
DLR - Research area:Space
DLR - Program:W SY - Technik für Raumfahrtsysteme
DLR - Research theme (Project):W - Projekt MAPHEUS (old)
Location: Köln-Porz , Bremen , Oberpfaffenhofen
Institutes and Institutions:Institute of Space Systems > Transport- und Antriebssysteme
Space Operations and Astronaut Training > MORABA-Mobile Rocket Base
Institute of Materials Physics in Space
Deposited By: Dr. Andreas Stamminger
Deposited On:15 Mar 2010 09:12
Last Modified:12 Dec 2013 20:55

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Browse
Search
Help & Contact
Informationen
electronic library is running on EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2012 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.