elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch
Fontsize: [-] Text [+]

NEOShield: A European project to address impact hazard mitigation issues

Fulchignoni, M. and Harris, A. W. and Barucci, M. A. and Cano, J. L. and Fitzsimmons, A. and Green , S. F. and Hestroffer, D. and Lappas, V. and Lork, W. and Michel, P. and Morrison, D. and Payson, D. and Schäfer, F. and Thuillot, W. (2012) NEOShield: A European project to address impact hazard mitigation issues. Asteroids, Comets, Meteors (ACM) 2012, 16-20 May 2012, Niigata, Japan. DOI: 10.1088/0004-6256/141/4/109.

Full text not available from this repository.

Official URL: http://www.lpi.usra.edu/meetings/acm2012/pdf/6120.pdf

Abstract

The NEOShield consortium consists of 13 research institutes, universities, and industrial partners and includes leading US and Russian space organizations. The primary aim of the project is to investigate in detail the three most promising mitigation techniques: the kinetic impactor, blast deflection, and the gravity tractor, and devise feasible demonstration missions. Options for an international strategy for implementation when an actual impact threat arises will also be investigated. The NEOShield project is funded by the European Union with a total of 5.8 million Euros for a period of 3.5 years. The kick-off meeting took place at the DLR Institute of Planetary Research, Berlin, in January 2012.

Document Type:Conference or Workshop Item (Lecture)
Title:NEOShield: A European project to address impact hazard mitigation issues
Authors:
AuthorsInstitution or Email of Authors
Fulchignoni, M.marcello.fulchignoni@obspm.fr
Harris, A. W.alan.harris@dlr.de
Barucci, M. A.antonella.barucci@obspm.fr
Cano, J. L.juan-luis.cano@deimos-space.com
Fitzsimmons, A.a.fitzsimmons@qub.ac.uk
Green , S. F.s.f.green@open.ac.uk
Hestroffer, D.hestro@imcce.fr
Lappas, V.v.lappas@surrey.ac.uk
Lork, W.Wolfram.Lork@Astrium.EADS.net
Michel, P.michelp@oca.eu
Morrison, D.dmorrison@seti.org
Payson, D.dpayson@mail.ru
Schäfer, F.schaefer@emi.fhg.de
Thuillot, W.thuillot@imcce.fr
Date:19 May 2012
Refereed publication:No
In Open Access:No
In SCOPUS:No
In ISI Web of Science:No
DOI: 10.1088/0004-6256/141/4/109
Status:Published
Keywords:Asteroids, near-Earth objects, impact hazard, mitigation
Event Title:Asteroids, Comets, Meteors (ACM) 2012
Event Location:Niigata, Japan
Event Type:international Conference
Event Dates:16-20 May 2012
Organizer:National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
HGF - Research field:Aeronautics, Space and Transport
HGF - Program:Space
HGF - Program Themes:other
DLR - Research area:Raumfahrt
DLR - Program:R - no assignement
DLR - Research theme (Project):R -- no assignement
Location: Berlin-Adlershof
Institutes and Institutions:Institute of Planetary Research > Asteroids and Comets
Deposited By: Prof. Alan Harris
Deposited On:09 Nov 2012 10:42
Last Modified:09 Nov 2012 10:42

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Browse
Search
Help & Contact
Informationen
electronic library is running on EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2012 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.