elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch
Fontsize: [-] Text [+]

Effects of ship emissions on global and regional aerosol distributions for future low-sulfur scenarios

Righi, M. and Klinger, C. and Eyring, V. and Hendricks, J. and Lauer, A. and Petzold, A. (2012) Effects of ship emissions on global and regional aerosol distributions for future low-sulfur scenarios.

Full text not available from this repository.

Abstract

Ocean-going ships are responsible for a large fraction of the total fuel consumption by transportation-related activities. Ships are the largest source of SO2 emissions of all transportation modes and also emit large amounts of NOx and CO2 (Eyring et al., 2010). Recent regulations enacted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) are now aiming at reducing the maximum sulfur content in marine fuels from currently 4.5% down to 0.5% in 2020. More restrictive limits have been set for coastal shipping routes close to densely populated regions (IMO, 2009). In this study, we perform simulations with the global aerosol-climate model EMAC-MADE to analyze the impact of ship emissions on air quality. Here, we focus on particulate matter, which is known to have adverse effects on human health. We analyze different scenarios of low-sulfur fuel applications in shipping (Righi et al., 2011), including the use of biofuels, to estimate changes in the global and regional aerosol distributions. We find that regulations coming fully into force in 2020 and the consequent use of low-sulfur fuels in shipping lead to strong reductions in surface-level particle concentrations particularly along the most travelled routes. This would improve air quality near the coastlines of Northern Europe, the Western Pacific region and Southeast Asia significantly.

Document Type:Proceedings
Title:Effects of ship emissions on global and regional aerosol distributions for future low-sulfur scenarios
Authors:
AuthorsInstitution or Email of Authors
Righi, M.mattia.righi@dlr.de
Klinger, C.carolin.klinger@physik.uni-muenchen.de
Eyring, V.veronika.eyring@dlr.de
Hendricks, J.johannes.hendricks@dlr.de
Lauer, A.lauera@hawaii.edu
Petzold, A.a.petzold@fz-juelich.de
Date:2012
Number of Pages:293
Editors:
EditorsEmail
Singh, V.v.singh3@herts.ac.uk
Price, H.h.price2@herts.ac.uk
Bartzis, J.bartzis@uowm.gr
Sokhi, R. S.r.s.sokhi@herts.ac.uk
Status:Published
Keywords:Aerosol, Shipping, Alternative fuels, Global modelling
HGF - Research field:Aeronautics, Space and Transport
HGF - Program:Transport
HGF - Program Themes:Transport System
DLR - Research area:Transport
DLR - Program:V VS - Verkehrssystem
DLR - Research theme (Project):V - Verkehrsentwicklung und Umwelt (old)
Location: Oberpfaffenhofen
Institutes and Institutions:Institute of Atmospheric Physics > Atmospheric Dynamics
Deposited By: Mattia Righi
Deposited On:02 Jul 2012 16:32
Last Modified:02 Jul 2012 16:32

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Browse
Search
Help & Contact
Informationen
electronic library is running on EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2012 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.