elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Impressum | Kontakt | English
Schriftgröße: [-] Text [+]

In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere

Roiger, Anke und Schlager, Hans und Schäfler, Andreas und Huntrieser, Heidi und Scheibe, Monika und Aufmhoff, Heinfried und Cooper, Owen und Sodemann, Harald und Stohl, Andreas und Burkhart, John und Lazzara, Matthew und Schiller, Cornelius und Law, Kathy und Arnold, Frank (2011) In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 11, Seiten 10975-10994. DOI: 10.5194/acp-11-10975-2011.

[img]
Vorschau
PDF - Requires a PDF viewer such as GSview, Xpdf or Adobe Acrobat Reader
5MB

Offizielle URL: http://www.atmos-chem-phys.net/11/10975/2011/acp-11-10975-2011.html

Kurzfassung

On a research flight on 10 July 2008, the German research aircraft Falcon sampled an air mass with unusually high carbon monoxide (CO), peroxyacetyl nitrate (PAN) and water vapour (H2O) mixing ratios in the Arctic lowermost stratosphere. The air mass was encountered twice at an altitude of 11.3 km, ~800 m above the dynamical tropopause. In-situ measurements of ozone, NO, and NOy indicate that this layer was a mixed air mass containing both air from the troposphere and stratosphere. Backward trajectory and Lagrangian particle dispersion model analysis suggest that the Falcon sampled the top of a polluted air mass originating from the coastal regions of East Asia. The anthropogenic pollution plume experienced strong up-lift in a warm conveyor belt (WCB) located over the Russian east-coast. Subsequently the Asian air mass was transported across the North Pole into the sampling area, elevating the local tropopause by up to ~3 km. Mixing with surrounding Arctic stratospheric air most likely took place during the horizontal transport when the tropospheric streamer was stretched into long and narrow filaments. The mechanism illustrated in this study possibly presents an important pathway to transport pollution into the polar tropopause region.

Dokumentart:Zeitschriftenbeitrag
Titel:In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere
Autoren:
AutorenInstitution oder E-Mail-Adresse der Autoren
Roiger, Ankeanke.roiger@dlr.de
Schlager, Hanshans.schlager@dlr.de
Schäfler, Andreasandreas.schaefler@dlr.de
Huntrieser, Heidiheidi.huntrieser@dlr.de
Scheibe, Monikamonika.scheibe@dlr.de
Aufmhoff, Heinfriedheinfried.aufmhoff@dlr.de
Cooper, OwenOwen.R.Cooper@noaa.gov
Sodemann, Haraldharald.sodemann@env.ethz.ch
Stohl, Andreasast@nilu.no
Burkhart, Johnjfb@nilu.no
Lazzara, Matthewmattl@ssec.wisc.edu
Schiller, Corneliusc.schiller@fz-juelich.de
Law, Kathykathy.law@latmos.ipsl.fr
Arnold, Frankfrank.arnold@mpi-hd.mpg.de
Datum:7 November 2011
Erschienen in:Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics
Referierte Publikation:Ja
In Open Access:Ja
In SCOPUS:Ja
In ISI Web of Science:Ja
Band:11
DOI :10.5194/acp-11-10975-2011
Seitenbereich:Seiten 10975-10994
Status:veröffentlicht
Stichwörter:upper troposphere-lowermost stratosphere, Arctic, anthropogenic pollution, Asia, warm conveyor belt
HGF - Forschungsbereich:Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Verkehr
HGF - Programm:Raumfahrt, Luftfahrt
HGF - Programmthema:Erdbeobachtung, ATM und Flugbetrieb
DLR - Schwerpunkt:Raumfahrt, Luftfahrt
DLR - Forschungsgebiet:R EO - Erdbeobachtung, L AO - Luftverkehrsmanagement und Flugbetrieb
DLR - Teilgebiet (Projekt, Vorhaben):R - Vorhaben Atmosphären- und Klimaforschung, L - Klima, Wetter und Umwelt
Standort: Oberpfaffenhofen
Institute & Einrichtungen:Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre > Atmosphärische Spurenstoffe
Hinterlegt von: Anke-Elisabeth Roiger
Hinterlegt am:11 Nov 2011 13:53
Letzte Änderung:12 Dez 2013 21:24

Nur für Mitarbeiter des Archivs: Kontrollseite des Eintrags

Blättern
Suchen
Hilfe & Kontakt
Informationen
electronic library verwendet EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2013 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.