elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch
Fontsize: [-] Text [+]

In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere

Roiger, Anke and Schlager, Hans and Schäfler, Andreas and Huntrieser, Heidi and Scheibe, Monika and Aufmhoff, Heinfried and Cooper, Owen and Sodemann, Harald and Stohl, Andreas and Burkhart, John and Lazzara, Matthew and Schiller, Cornelius and Law, Kathy and Arnold, Frank (2011) In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 11, pp. 10975-10994. DOI: 10.5194/acp-11-10975-2011.

[img]
Preview
PDF - Requires a PDF viewer such as GSview, Xpdf or Adobe Acrobat Reader
5MB

Official URL: http://www.atmos-chem-phys.net/11/10975/2011/acp-11-10975-2011.html

Abstract

On a research flight on 10 July 2008, the German research aircraft Falcon sampled an air mass with unusually high carbon monoxide (CO), peroxyacetyl nitrate (PAN) and water vapour (H2O) mixing ratios in the Arctic lowermost stratosphere. The air mass was encountered twice at an altitude of 11.3 km, ~800 m above the dynamical tropopause. In-situ measurements of ozone, NO, and NOy indicate that this layer was a mixed air mass containing both air from the troposphere and stratosphere. Backward trajectory and Lagrangian particle dispersion model analysis suggest that the Falcon sampled the top of a polluted air mass originating from the coastal regions of East Asia. The anthropogenic pollution plume experienced strong up-lift in a warm conveyor belt (WCB) located over the Russian east-coast. Subsequently the Asian air mass was transported across the North Pole into the sampling area, elevating the local tropopause by up to ~3 km. Mixing with surrounding Arctic stratospheric air most likely took place during the horizontal transport when the tropospheric streamer was stretched into long and narrow filaments. The mechanism illustrated in this study possibly presents an important pathway to transport pollution into the polar tropopause region.

Document Type:Article
Title:In-situ observation of Asian pollution transported into the Arctic lowermost stratosphere
Authors:
AuthorsInstitution or Email of Authors
Roiger, Ankeanke.roiger@dlr.de
Schlager, Hanshans.schlager@dlr.de
Schäfler, Andreasandreas.schaefler@dlr.de
Huntrieser, Heidiheidi.huntrieser@dlr.de
Scheibe, Monikamonika.scheibe@dlr.de
Aufmhoff, Heinfriedheinfried.aufmhoff@dlr.de
Cooper, OwenOwen.R.Cooper@noaa.gov
Sodemann, Haraldharald.sodemann@env.ethz.ch
Stohl, Andreasast@nilu.no
Burkhart, Johnjfb@nilu.no
Lazzara, Matthewmattl@ssec.wisc.edu
Schiller, Corneliusc.schiller@fz-juelich.de
Law, Kathykathy.law@latmos.ipsl.fr
Arnold, Frankfrank.arnold@mpi-hd.mpg.de
Date:7 November 2011
Journal or Publication Title:Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics
Refereed publication:Yes
In Open Access:Yes
In SCOPUS:Yes
In ISI Web of Science:Yes
Volume:11
DOI:10.5194/acp-11-10975-2011
Page Range:pp. 10975-10994
Status:Published
Keywords:upper troposphere-lowermost stratosphere, Arctic, anthropogenic pollution, Asia, warm conveyor belt
HGF - Research field:Aeronautics, Space and Transport
HGF - Program:Space, Aeronautics
HGF - Program Themes:Earth Observation, ATM and Operation
DLR - Research area:Raumfahrt, Aeronautics
DLR - Program:R EO - Erdbeobachtung, L AO - Air Traffic Management and Operation
DLR - Research theme (Project):R - Vorhaben Atmosphären- und Klimaforschung, L - Climate, Weather and Environment
Location: Oberpfaffenhofen
Institutes and Institutions:Institute of Atmospheric Physics > Atmospheric Trace Species
Deposited By: Anke-Elisabeth Roiger
Deposited On:11 Nov 2011 13:53
Last Modified:12 Dec 2013 21:24

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Browse
Search
Help & Contact
Informationen
electronic library is running on EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2012 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.