elib
DLR-Header
DLR-Logo -> http://www.dlr.de
DLR Portal Home | Imprint | Contact | Deutsch
Fontsize: [-] Text [+]

On the Role of Multimodal Communication in Telesurgery Systems

Bauernschmitt, Robert and Braun, Eva U. and Buss, Martin and Fröhlich, Florian and Hirche, Sandra and Hirzinger, Gerd and Kammerl, Julius and Knoll, Alois and Konietschke, Rainer and Kübler, Bernhard and Lange, Rüdiger and Mayer, Hermann and Rank, Markus and Schillhuber, Gerhard and Staub, Christoph and Steinbach, Eckehard and Tobergte, Andreas and Ulbrich, Heinz and Vittorias, Iason and Zhao, Chen (2009) On the Role of Multimodal Communication in Telesurgery Systems. In: Proceedings. IEEE. 11th International Congress of the IUPESM, World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, 5. Okt. – 7. Okt. 2009, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

[img]
Preview
PDF - Requires a PDF viewer such as GSview, Xpdf or Adobe Acrobat Reader
1MB

Abstract

Telesurgery systems integrate multimodal communication and robotic technologies to enable surgical procedures to be performed from remote locations. They allow human surgeons to intuitively control laparoscopic instruments and to navigate within the human body. In this paper, we present selected topics on multimodal interaction in the context of telesurgery applications. These are results from the collaborative research project SFB 453 on ”High-Fidelity Telepresence and Teleaction” which is funded by the German Research Foundation in the larger Munich area. The focus in this paper is on multimodal information processing and communication including simulation of surgical targets in the human body. Furthermore, we present an overview of our advanced multimodal telesurgery demonstrators that provide a comprehensive platform for our collaborative telepresence research.

Document Type:Conference or Workshop Item (Speech, Paper)
Title:On the Role of Multimodal Communication in Telesurgery Systems
Authors:
AuthorsInstitution or Email of Authors
Bauernschmitt, Robertbauernschmitt@dhm.mhn.de
Braun, Eva U.brauneva@dhm.mhn.de
Buss, Martinmb@tum.de
Fröhlich, FlorianFlorian.Froehlich@dlr.de
Hirche, Sandrahirche@tum.de
Hirzinger, GerdGerd.Hirzinger@dlr.de
Kammerl, Juliuskammerl@tum.de
Knoll, Aloisknoll@in.tum.de
Konietschke, RainerRainer.Konietschke@dlr.de
Kübler, BernhardBernhard.Kuebler@dlr.de
Lange, Rüdigerlange@dhm.mhn.de
Mayer, Hermannmayerh@in.tum.de
Rank, Markusm.rank@tum.de
Schillhuber, Gerhardschillhuber@amm.mw.tu-muenchen.de
Staub, Christophstaub@in.tum.de
Steinbach, Eckehardeckehard.steinbach@tum.de
Tobergte, AndreasAndreas.Tobergte@dlr.de
Ulbrich, Heinzulbrich@amm.mw.tu-muenchen.de
Vittorias, Iasonvittorias@tum.de
Zhao, Chenzhao@amm.mw.tu-muenchen.de
Date:5 October 2009
Journal or Publication Title:Proceedings
Refereed publication:Yes
In ISI Web of Science:No
Publisher:IEEE
Status:Published
Keywords:Multimodal Communication, Telesurgery Systems
Event Title:11th International Congress of the IUPESM, World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering
Event Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Event Type:international Conference
Event Dates:5. Okt. – 7. Okt. 2009
HGF - Research field:Aeronautics, Space and Transport (old)
HGF - Program:Space (old)
HGF - Program Themes:W SY - Technik für Raumfahrtsysteme
DLR - Research area:Space
DLR - Program:W SY - Technik für Raumfahrtsysteme
DLR - Research theme (Project):W - Weiterentwicklung Robotik - Mechatronik und Dynamik (old)
Location: Oberpfaffenhofen
Institutes and Institutions:Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics > Robotic Systems
Deposited By: Gabriele Beinhofer
Deposited On:19 Jan 2010 09:37
Last Modified:12 Dec 2013 20:52

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Browse
Search
Help & Contact
Informationen
electronic library is running on EPrints 3.3.12
Copyright © 2008-2012 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.